We recommend shopping
for a loan with at least three mortgage companies before you make a
decision. There are countless stories of consumers who ended up
paying higher rates, or got a loan that wasn't right for them,
because they blindly followed their Realtor's
5. Not getting a rate lock in
writing.
When a mortgage
company tells you they have locked your rate, get a written
statement detailing the interest rate, the length of the rate lock,
and other particulars about the program.
6. Using a dual agent (an agent
who represents the buyer and seller in the same transaction).
Buyers and sellers
have opposing interests. Sellers want to receive the highest price,
buyers want to pay the lowest price. In most situations, dual agents
cannot be fair to both buyer and seller. Since the seller usually
pays the commission, the dual agent may negotiate harder for the
seller than for the buyer. If you are a buyer, it is usually better
to have your own agent represent you. The only time you should
consider using a dual agent, is when you can get a price break
(usually resulting from the dual agent lowering their commission).
In that case, proceed cautiously and do your homework!
7. Buying a home
without professional inspections. Taking the seller's word that
repairs have been made.
Unless you're buying
a new home with warranties on most equipment, it is highly
recommended that you get property, roof and termite inspections.
These reports will give you a better picture of what you're buying.
Inspection reports are great negotiating tools when it comes to
asking the seller to make repairs. If a professional home inspector
states that certain repairs need to be made, the seller is more
likely to agree to making them. If the seller agrees to make
repairs, have your inspector verify the completed work prior to
close of escrow. Do not assume that everything will be done as
promised.
8. Not shopping for home
insurance until you are ready to close.
Start shopping for
insurance as soon as you have an accepted offer. Many buyers wait
until the last minute to get insurance and find they have no time
left to shop around.
9. Signing documents without
reading them.
Do not sign documents
in a hurry. As soon as possible, review the documents you'll be
signing at close of escrow-including a copy of all loan documents.
This way, you can review them and get your questions answered in a
timely manner. Do not expect to read all the documents during the
closing. There is rarely enough time to do that.
10. Making moving plans that
don't work.
You expect to move
out of your current residence on Friday and into your new residence
over the weekend. Also on Friday, your lease terminates and the
movers are scheduled to appear. Friday morning arrives: bags packed,
boxes stacked, children under arm and the dog on a leash; you're
sitting on your front door stoop awaiting the arrival of the movers.
Your phone rings. Your loan closing is delayed until the following
Tuesday. The new tenants turn into your driveway with a
weighted-down U-Haul and the movers pull up across the street. You
ask yourself, "Where's the nearest Motel 6 and storage
facility? How much will the movers charge for an extra trip? Can we
afford it?" How can you avoid such a disaster? Cancel your
lease and ask the movers to show up five to seven days after you
anticipate closing your transaction. Consider the extra expense an
insurance policy. You're buying peace of mind, and protecting
yourself from expensive delays.
Refinancing your home
1. Refinancing
with your current lender without shopping around.
Your current lender
may not have the best rates and programs. Believing it's easier to
work with your current lender is a common misconception. In most
cases, they'll require the same documentation as other lenders and
mortgage brokers. This is because most loans are sold on the
secondary market and have to be approved independently. Even if
you've been good at making payments to your existing lender, they'll
still have to process the verifications all over again.
2. Not doing a break-even
analysis.
Determine the total
transaction costs and how much you'll save each month by lowering
your monthly mortgage payment. Divide the transaction costs by the
monthly savings to determine the number of months you'll have to
stay in the property to recoup your refinancing costs. For example,
if the costs of refinancing total $2000, and you save $50 per month,
you break-even in 2000/50 = 40 months. In this case, you should only
refinance if you plan to stay in the home for at least 40 months.
Note: The above example is suited to
comparing two similar loans when the intent is to lower your monthly
payment and recoup transaction costs relatively quickly. Other
refinancing transactions require different kinds of analyses, which
are beyond the scope of this document. Other types of refinancing
transactions include exchanging a fixed rate for an ARM, or a
30-year mortgage for a 15-year mortgage.
3. Not getting a written
good-faith estimate of closing costs.
Within 3 working days
after receipt of your completed loan application, your mortgage
company is required to provide you with a written good-faith
estimate of closing costs.
4. Paying for a home appraisal
when you think the appraised value may be low.
Have the appraisal
company conduct a desk-review appraisal (typically at no charge) and
provide you with a range of possible values. Your mortgage company
can ask an appraiser to do this for you. Do not waste your money on
a complete appraisal if you believe the home is unreasonably priced.
5. Using the county tax
assessor's value as the market value of your home.
Mortgage companies do
not use the county tax assessor's value to help determine if they'll
originate your loan. They, like real estate agents, usually use the
sales comparison approach (formerly known as the market data
comparison approach).
6. Signing documents without
reading them.
Do not sign documents
in a hurry. As soon as possible, review the documents you'll be
signing at close of escrow-including a copy of all loan documents.
This way, you can review them and get your questions answered in a
timely manner. Do not expect to read all the documents during the
closing. There is rarely enough time to do that.
7. Not providing your mortgage
company with documents in a timely manner.
When your mortgage
company asks you for additional paperwork, get cracking! They're
trying to get you approved! If you don't quickly respond to your
broker's requests, you could end up paying higher rates should your
rate lock expire.
8. Not getting a rate lock in
writing.
When a mortgage
company tells you they've locked your rate, get a written statement
detailing the interest rate, the length of the rate lock, and other
particulars about the program.
9. Drawing against your home
equity credit line before you refinance your first mortgage.
Many lenders have
"cash-out" seasoning requirements. If you draw against
your credit line for anything other than home improvements, they'll
consider your first mortgage re-finance transaction a
"cash-out" refinance. This creates stricter lending
requirements and can, in some cases, break your deal!
10. Getting a second mortgage
before you refinance your first mortgage.
Many mortgage
companies look at the combined loan amounts (i.e., the sum of the
first and second loans) when you are refinancing only your first
loan. If you plan on refinancing your first loan, check with your
mortgage company to see if having a second loan will cause your
refinance to be turned down.
Getting a home equity credit line.
1. Not checking
to see if your credit line has a pre-payment penalty clause.
If you are getting a
"NO FEE" credit line, chances are it has a pre-payment
penalty clause. This can be very important (and expensive) if you
are planning to sell or refinance your home in the next three to
five years.
2. Getting too large a credit
line.
When you get too
large a credit line, you can be turned down for other loans. Some
lenders calculate your credit line payments based upon the available
credit, even when your credit line has a zero balance. Having a
large credit line indicates a large potential payment, which makes
it difficult to qualify for loans.
3. Not understanding the
difference between an equity loan and a credit line.
An equity loan is
closed; you get all your money up front, and then make payments on
that fixed loan amount until the loan is paid. An equity credit line
is open, you can get an initial advance against the line, and then
reuse the line as often as you want during the period the line is
open. Most credit lines are accessed through a checkbook or a credit
card. Credit line payments are based upon the outstanding balance.
Use an equity loan when you need all the money up front, home
improvements or debt consolidation. Use a credit line if you have an
ongoing need for money or need the money for a future event, you
need to pay for your child's college tuition in three years.
4. Not checking the life cap on
your equity line.
Many credit lines
have life caps of 18%. Be prepared to make high interest payments if
rates move upwards.
5. Getting a credit line from
your local bank without shopping around.
Many consumers get
their credit line from the bank with which they have their checking
account. Shop around before deciding to use your bank.
6. Not getting a good-faith
estimate of closing costs.
Within three working
days after receipt of your completed loan application, your
mort-gage company is required to provide you with a written
good-faith estimate of closing costs.
7. Assuming that the interest on
your home credit line/loan is tax deductible.
In some instances, the interest on
your home credit line is NOT tax deductible. It is be-yond the scope
of this document to provide tax advice or quote from the IRS code.
Contact an accountant or CPA to determine your particular situation.
8. Assuming a home equity line
is always cheaper than a car loan or a credit card.
A credit card at 6.9%
can be cheaper than a credit line at 12%, even after the tax
deduction. To compare rates, compare the effective rate of your
credit line with the rate on a credit card or auto loan. Effective
rate = rate * (1 - tax bracket) Example: If the rate of the home
equity credit line is 12% and your tax bracket is 30%, your
effective rate is12% * (1 - 0.3) = 12% * 0.7 = 8.4% If your credit
card is higher than 8.4%, the credit line is cheaper. Besides the
interest rate, you may also want to compare monthly payments and
other terms of the loan.
9. Getting a home equity credit
line if you plan to refinance your first mortgage in the near
future.
Many mortgage
companies look at the combined loan amounts (i.e., the first loan
plus the equity line/loan) even though they are refinancing only the
first mortgage. If you plan on refinancing your first loan, check
with your mortgage company to determine if getting a second
line/loan will cause your refinance to be turned down.
10. Getting a home equity credit
line to pay off your credit cards if your spending is out of
control!
When you pay off your credit cards
with your credit line, don't put your home on the line by charging
large amounts on your credit cards again! If you can't manage the
plastic, get rid of it!

